Make your own free website on

About Our Flag

Texas is called the Lone Star State because of the design of the state flag: a broad vertical blue stripe at left, centered by a single white star, with horizontal bars of white and red on the right. The red means courage, the white means liberty and the blue stands for loyalty. The star has five points, one for each letter of the state's name. The word "Texas" comes from the Hasinai Indian word "Tejas," which means friends or allies. State Flag: Known as the Lone Star Flag.

Six other flags have flown over Texas. They are:

Spanish 1519-1685
French 1685-1690
Spanish 1690-1821
Mexican 1821-1836
Republic of Texas 1836-1845
United States 1845-1861
Confederate States 1861-1865
United States 1865 to the present

Our State Seal

Now Playing
Our State Song-"Texas Our Texas"